Training with hobbyist

Thought this was really interesting.

2 Likes

makes sense. When I trained Judo before work broke my schedule, the competitors had one or two throws polished to a t and a gameplan while the hobbyists tended to play around and try a lot of different things. I can see the building block and learning from different situations idea being beneficial. Having a mix of both the pressure and the variety can only be good for developing a roundedness

I like to blend the two together. With a purpose.

It’s not a dichotomy, really. But most competitors are hobbyists anyway.

1 Like

“Hobbyists” should die in a fire. It’s just code for not trying much. They like to talk shit about those who DO work hard while claiming “Oh, I’m just a hobbyist.”

I dunno man, i think there is a purity in someone who practices their art for years on end purely because they have a passion.

I definitely train as a hobby. I already have a full time job and a profession.

1 Like

Problem is that they still buy dojos and stupid shit like that.

DUDE! Somebody has to pay the bills!

Should nothing be done in life be done purely for enjoyment?

And who can we blame for that?

Carlos fucking Gracie

That’s who

They can pay just fine in their blue belts.

Not if those same people are gonna turn around and be nazis to people who DO work hard. They often project their failure onto other people while parading around in basically rented belts. Its embarrassing. Thats who the primary target is for affiliations in the first place. Real locally known killers don’t need a celeb endorsement. The 40 year old psychologist who’s getting bored with the day job needs one though because his work isn’t enough to stand on. Then when you question WTF he’s doing with a dojo, “Oh, he’s a hobbyist BB, but a great instructor.” ROFL

Thats the misconception though. That if the instructor is awesome then he is also kind of allowed to be a dickhole.