Silat Sendeng Haji Hamid UK

I trained in silat sendeng Haji Hamid in the UK for around 8ish months a few years ago. It’s a form of silat from Malaysia which has both open hand and weapon forms. I left due to personal grievances with the instructor but feel like I know enough about the martial art to discuss its strengths and weaknesses.

My background – I have been training in martial arts since I was 5 years old, but mainly have been focused on Muay Thai. Back injury and weight gain kept me out so by the time I was ready to start training again I decided to give silat a go.

The format I feel wasn’t right for training, it was one weekend a month with very little/ no contact in between, plus the instructor was often too tired to train with full intensity because he was driving from south wales (around 200ish miles away) to come to training. I understand this has changed now with a lot more interaction and training between sessions.

First, the strengths:

I think its weapons forms, especially knife attack/ defence are very very good. I understand that there are a range of weapons within the system but I only really lightly started on swords and saw a demo of knife work. It is a shame that these were not taught in the initial 12 month course as I think they would have been way more useful in the UK and attracted a lot more people to train.

It has a very interesting and rich history, so you feel connected to a long line of martial artists down the centuries with a good lineage of kuntao and sendeng forms of martial arts.