How do you train so you avoid injuries

uyASFz-2038702528

So I’m almost 40, have some mild lower back arthritis. I’d love to try some mma, maybe judo, BJJ, Wrestling.

Is there a way to train while avoiding serious injury?

I’m not looking to jump into competition of course

I have a question that has to do with the op. Alot of people are saying you should strengthen the part of the body that was injured to help it heal faster. Do you guys think it’s true? People who believe this would say the op should do romanian deadlifts or deadlifts to help with his lower back . I’m not a fitness expert so I don’t know what to think.

At your age anything you do is going to hurt more. I recommend more belly breathing.

Naturally this is a great time to start managing pain. Martial arts 101, and something most martial artists royally suck at. Especially black belts. That’s how I can spot shitty ones, they have a low pain threshold.

Be cautious about getting advice from broken, geriatric guys with belts. They make a lot of claims but end of day most of them never fought a day in their lives and are enfeebled because they thought they didn’t need to do the necessary roadwork.

Consider this, your body is going to cripple itself most by doing nothing. I’d rather dance in pain at 50 than wither away on a coach.

1 Like

Anywhere that uses the Constraints Led Approach informed through Ecological Dynamics.

Rolls eyes.

Again, rolls eyes.

You and Ashida Kim, and for the same reasons.

1 Like

I know this is not Monkey Steals Peach, which is actually a really old Cantonese elbow breaking technique, trivial to pull off on BJJ but you’d get DQ’d.

This is from the Kata Dante AKA ,“Dance of the Deadly Hands”. This is bullshit.

It’s actually more like Twin Flying Butterfly from southern CMA (specifically Tiger and Crane).